04
Nov
08

Lansdowne Park survey

The Glebe Community Association has released a survey about the new Lansdowne Park proposal, and as I’m sure you can see it’s a long way from being impartial.

I have nothing against the Glebe or the GCA, however I think they may be undermining their own position by coming out with such a biased survey—you don’t need to be a statistician to tell that this sort of poll is going to lead to some pretty skewed results. I’m very much in favour of the new plan, and I had difficulty answering in a manner that properly showed my opinion. There were quite a few leading questions in there, to say the least.

I think this is unfortunate, because much as I am in favour of the plan, I fully encourage debate around the issue. That’s part of the reason why I write about it here, and I recognize that dissenting opinions can often help to turn a good idea into a great one. That said, the GCA needs to recognize that they are far better off trying to work with the plan rather than blindly trying to oppose it. So far, it seems as though Jeff Hunt and friends are quite open to community input (witness their inclusion of space for the famer’s market in the plan, for instance) and if Glebe residents try to work with the plan on the table, they may see more of their concerns addressed. On the other hand, by simply opposing it they may be left out in the cold, and everybody loses.

1 Response to “Lansdowne Park survey”


  1. November 10, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I think you’re right. Either way, whatever the people living around the place do or try to do, Lansdowne is going to continue to be a sports/entertainment focus of the city. With all the consequences that flow from that fact.


Leave a Reply

What is this?

This is a blog dedicated to exploring and discussing Ottawa, Canada.

Pages

Contact

Email: dmccl033(at)uottawa(dot)ca

RSS feed

Blog Stats

  • 62,944 hits

